//
you're reading...
npower League

Championship Football Weekend Preview

by Thomas Rooney

Yet again, it is time to look ahead to some Championship football this weekend. I am pleased to say that I was right when I predicted a Norwich win at Plymouth – it was a fantastic display from Glenn Roeder’s men and in reality, it should have been more convincing victory.

However, I have to admit that optimism got the better of me and I also predicted a win against QPR – quite wide of the mark as I’m sure you are aware. It was a poor performance and too many players were below par. Hopefully it was a one-off as opposed to signs of things to come.

One thing for sure is that it is important the team bounce back against Sheffield United this weekend and this is one of the many games I am looking at before I indulge in some more football bets.

Birmingham v Blackpool – This has to be a home win. The Blues are unbeaten so far and Blackpool are struggling to find any consistency. 3-1.

Bristol City v Doncaster – This is a tough one to call. The football odds will be favouring a home win, but after narrowly losing their last two games – I think Doncaster will grab a point. 1-1.

Coventry v QPR – As much as I hate to admit it, I was impressed with QPR’s defensive capabilities against Norwich on Tuesday. They will be a very hard team to beat this season. 1-2.

Crystal Palace v Plymouth – It seems that Paul Sturrock’s men could be one of the most unpredictable teams in the league. After Norwich beat them comfortably, they went and won 2-1 at Watford. I think there performance against Norwich is more likely to be the norm though. 2-0.

Derby v Cardiff – Derby won their first game of the season last weekend. Can they follow this up with another against sixth placed Cardiff? No, I don’t think they will. 1-1.

Norwich v Sheffield United – If the performance is anything like that against QPR, it’s another defeat I’m afraid. I expect us to bounce back though, but don’t quite see it being enough for the three points. 2-2.

Nottingham Forest v Charlton – Alan Pardew’s men picked up a valuable three points at Doncaster on Tuesday and they have another chance to do just that against another newly-promoted team. Forest are struggling. 1-2.

Preston v Wolves – This clash between 1st and 3rd is probably the most exciting of the day and it also forms part of my Friday Football Betting Tip. I think Wolves will come unstuck here. They were lucky against Palace at the weekend in my opinion. Preston to nick it. 3-2.

Sheffield Wednesday v Ipswich – The home side will be looking for a response after their drubbing at Reading last weekend while Ipswich are after their second away win of the season. There will be goals, but no winner. 3-3.

Southampton v Barnsley – These are two struggling sides and I expect the game to reflect their poor starts to the season. Home advantage should be just about enough for Southampton to pick up their second win of the season. 1-0.

Swansea v Burnley – The home side have started well to life in the Championship and they sit 10th in the league. You never quite know what to expect from Burnley so it’s a draw for me. 1-1.

Watford v Reading – Watford have lost their last two games and they face a side that won their last game 6-0. Reading have struggled on the road so far, but with Kevin Doyle in fine form, they will have too much for the home side. 1-3.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

