//
you're reading...
npower League

Championship predictions and betting – 08/08/08

by Thomas Rooney 

The opening weekend of the Championship season is almost upon us and I thought it might be a good idea to predict the results of the first set of games. I do realise that the first game of the season doesn’t mean much into relation to the rest of the campaign. A team could lose 6-0 and go on to win the league and a team could win 6-0 and end up in League One. That’s the nature of this league – nothing is won or lost in the first weekend of the season.

Something the first game can affect is confidence and belief for the rest of the season. Get a win in and it’s something to build on. Especially for the relegated trio – Birmingham, Reading and Derby. It’s important for them to get their first win early to get their Championship campaign under way.

Most importantly though taking a look at the potential results of each game could assist you in your online football betting. I know I have often put an accumulator on to potentially soften the blow of a Norwich defeat. Of course, it never seems to work like that. Normally it’s a heavy defeat for the boys and £5 lost that I will never see again.

However, it’s always fun. It keeps your mind occupied and could actually lead to you celebrating another team scoring as much as you would have done had it been Norwich hitting the back of the net. Someone I used to work with once won £8,000 based on 12 football results on a Saturday – unbelievable.

So, without further delay, let’s make some Championship football predictions. Should be easy really, it’s only the most unpredictable league in the world…..

Birmingham v Sheffield United – This is the early kick-off on Saturday and is the pick of the games in my view. I expect Sheffield United to do well this year and Birmingham to struggle early on. 2-2.

Blackpool v Bristol City – The away side begin their quest to go one better than last season when they lost in the play-off final. Blackpool will struggle once again and their home form is crucial. It’s another draw for me. A dull one. 0-0.

Cardiff v Southampton – The Saints are my tip to be relegated this season and a trip to Wales to face FA Cup finalists Cardiff isn’t the best way to start. Comfortable home win. 3-0.

Charlton v Swansea – Now, this is where I am going to advise you on my Friday Football Betting Tip. I fancy newly promoted Swansea to win here as part of a good start they will have to the season. Charlton are often nervous at home and I think they will slip up in this one. Get some money on it. 1-2.

Coventry v Norwich – Do I have to predict this one? If I’m honest, I’m not too hopeful. It has got a comfortable home victory written all over it. Of course, I hope I am wrong. I expect us to have a decent season, but it won’t start that way at the Ricoh Arena. 3-1.

Crystal Palace v Watford – This is a tough one to call. Both teams missed out in the play-offs last year and they will harbour ambitions to improve this time. I’m going to sit on the fence here. 1-1.

Derby v Doncaster – Should be a home banker. Derby have made some excellent signings in my view and they should have too much for Doncaster. If they score early to settle the nerves, it could be a rout for Paul Jewell’s men. 4-0.

Ipswich v Preston – One thing I can never do is back Ipswich to win. Even if I think they might. The thought of being slightly pleased when they win disturbs me somewhat. Even if it does earn me a few quid. Chris Brown to score the winner. 0-1.

Plymouth v Wolves – Another tough game to call between two sides who finished outside the play-offs last season. I have a feeling Plymouth might struggle slightly this year as they haven’t added to their squad from what I can see. Away win – just. 2-3.

QPR v Barnsley – The first question mark here is about who will be manager of QPR. Ian ‘Always on Sky Sports News’ Dowie has apparently fallen out with the owners. Nevertheless, I expect the home side to win this one. 2-0.

Sheffield Wednesday v Burnley – Sheffield Wednesday will be no better than mid-table once again, but I think this will eclipse Burnley’s achievements. They have over achieved for far too long and I have a hunch that they will be bottom at Christmas. 3-1.

So, that’s that. I will be reviewing how accurate I have been or how wide of the mark I have been next week. Until then, good luck to the boys at Coventry. Prove my prediction wrong. Thanks.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

