//
you're reading...
Transfer News & Gossip

One piece of the Roeder Revolution remaining – the biggest piece

by Thomas Rooney

After John Kennedy became signing number eight for Glenn Roeder this summer, attention now turns to filling the role of the ‘big striker’ to partner either Arturo Lupoli or Jamie Cureton in attack. Both players, according to Roeder, work better with a more physical strike partner so now the search is on.

So, who could this player be? Presuming it is someone who has been linked with a move to Carrow Road already this summer, I have selected three possibilities and discussed whether they will join, whether I want them to join and how much it would cost for them to come.

Shola Ameobi

Rivalling the Cristiano Ronaldo transfer saga for repeated speculation, the Newcastle striker has been constantly linked with a move to Carrow Road. It seems that he has no future under Kevin Keegan and Roeder rates him highly having managed him previously. Considering the fact that I would put all of my football betting money on him leaving Newcastle, a move to Norfolk would make sense for Ameobi, but the stumbling block has to be the asking price of between £3m – £4m. That is simply too much for Norwich at this moment.

My feeling is that Roeder is biding his time in the hope that Newcastle will drop there asking price if nobody else comes in for him. If they are so keen to offload, they will have to back down over the money they want to receive. A price of closer to £2m would represent a good deal for Norwich and one which would please me. Ameobi would be just the sort of player that we need and I genuinely believe he would become a fan favourite – but only if the price is right.

Ed – and before anyone shouts, I said I wouldn’t write anything else about “He who must not be named” until it was resolved, I didn’t say Thomas wouldn’t!

Steve Howard

Next up on the rumour mill is 32-year-old Leicester striker Steve Howard. After Leicester’s relegation, he is looking for a way out of the club and he certainly fits the ‘tall more physical striker’ mould. The rumoured asking price of £1.25m is ridiculous though. I wouldn’t want to pay any more than half of this fee for a man of his age.

In his favour would be that he played with Lupoli during Derby’s promotion season a couple of years ago. In that sense, he would be a good addition. I’m not entirely convinced that he is the man for us though. I’d give him time to win me over, but there are others I would rather have.

Grzegorz Rasiak

I have always wanted us to sign this man, mainly because I have always rated him as an excellent player at Championship level. There are doubts over his commitment and work-rate, but I’d like to see him in a Norwich shirt. Throughout his career he has a decent goal-scoring record and at 29-years-old he still has a lot to give.

One thing is for sure – Roeder likes him. It was reported that he was all set to join Norwich on loan before Premier League side Bolton made there move in January. Considering Southampton’s financial issues, it shouldn’t take too much to prize him away from St Marys either. So overall, Rasiak is a realistic and affordable option who would – in my opinion – score plenty of goals for Norwich.

So, these are the three that have been linked with a move recently. Antoine Sibierski has as well, but considering he is available on a free transfer, I think that if he was going to join the Roeder Revolution – he would have done so by now. I may be wrong, but I just can’t see this one happening.

It could of course be none of the above, but if it was I would take either Rasiak or Ameobi any day. Howard would need to prove a lot to me if he joined though. So Ameobi or Rasiak please Glenn – either that or a surprise Huckerby / Crouch style signing!

Anyway, tonight sees us take on Tottenham at Carrow Road as pre-season steps up a level. A lot of the new signings will be on show for the first time and just because I love doing it, below is a revised line-up of the team that I think/hope will start the season against Coventry in a couple of weeks.

Marshall

Omozusi   Kennedy   Stefanovic  Bertrand

Bell     Fotheringham Clingan  Hoolahan

Lupoli   Rasiak / Ameobi

I don’t know about you – but this looks pretty decent in my view. It has the look of a very solid Championship football side. A far cry from the one that started last season.

Finally, good luck to the lads against Spurs tonight, let’s hope for an impressive performance without any injuries. Carrow Road needs to be a fortress this season and that starts tonight.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

