//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Bring on the start of the season

by Thomas Rooney

I just want the season to start now. I was enjoying the transfer rumours and was predicting our starting line up for the first game of the season with optimism. Now, in all honesty – I am fed up of it all. It’s just rumour, after rumour, after rumour from ‘reliable sources’ but only two signings have actually materialised.

I’m also fed up of the takeover talk as well. I know it hasn’t even been a week since Peter Cullum’s interest was confirmed, but it’s been a topic that has extremely frustrated me. Why aren’t the club issuing another statement about what is happening? Why aren’t they willing to sit down and discuss the offer with Cullum? I’ll stop short of really criticising the current board, because I respect what Delia has done for our club and will always appreciate this.

However, I just hope that she doesn’t let sentiment and her own pride get in the way of a billionaire investing in our football club. She has been saying that the club would always welcome any investment – so why the lack of communication with Cullum this time around? Something else to consider, is Delia’s interview at the Royal Norfolk show. She clearly hinted that we could have more money to spend than people think (presumably Cullum’s money) and yet this is far from the case as a deal is yet to be agreed.

The whole situation just strikes me as a bit odd. Cullum seems desperate to invest into the transfer budget and that needs to happen soon. The lack of movement on the transfer front in the last week or so worries me – it seems more and more likely that we are waiting for the Cullum money to move forward with transfers. The season is only five weeks away and we need to act now. Otherwise, it is another season of mediocrity. Any football odds will tell you that we aren’t in for a great season as things stand.

I can’t imagine what Glenn Roeder is thinking now. Was he promised a bundle of money for transfers? Now this is taking longer to happen than he would have hoped, surely he isn’t going to be happy?

I apologise that I have simply asked a few questions during this piece, but I think it represents the uncertainty surrounding our football club. At this moment, we don’t know who is going to be the majority shareholder at the club, how much money we have to spend, who we are going to spend it on or most importantly which centre back we are going to sign to make sure the Doherty – Shackell partnership isn’t going to have its chance to ‘shine’ once again.

Of course, everything could pan out well in the end. I just hope it ends up with an agreement with Cullum being made in the next few days, allowing Roeder to spend some money on some much needed players. Leave it too long or fail to agree a deal with Cullum at all and the board can expect a wealth of criticism from the fans, from Roeder and even from the players themselves.

I’m hoping that everything I have talked about today turns out to be a waste of energy as it’s all going to work out ok. At this precise moment though – I’m wouldn’t bet on it. Maybe I will go on holiday for five weeks, come back in time for the Coventry game and see what the situation is then. Because it’s the not knowing and misguided debate that I just can’t stand.

Discussion

One thought on “Bring on the start of the season

  1. Don’t panic, TR! It’s all under control…..we’ve got “Plastic” Bertrand back for 6 months. So that’s the left side sorted then. And we’ve got a keeper. And (crucially) a new kit-man! I bet that’s got the rest of the Championship quaking in their boots.

    Anyway……it’s all up in the air until this takeover malarkey is sorted. Which it will be, I’m sure.

    I’ve been surprised at some of the reactions I’ve been reading on various message boards about the Peter Cullum offer. I’m not quite sure many people have got their heads around what’s happening here. The “£20 million for new players” headlines seems to be causing confusion in a the short-term scheme of things. Taking a bit of a punt here, and with apologies to Mr Cullum if he happens to read this, my guess is this. I would imagine that he took a while to decide on that figure. What would look impressive enough to grab the fans attention, but not terrify the rest of the division? £20 million is a sizeable sum to spend in the Championship, that’s for sure. But of course, as soon as the size of your wad is revealed to the likes of Karren Brady and the rest, so the asking prices for their players sky-rockets.

    20 million quid to Peter Cullum is the equivalent of the bit of loose change that you and I may find down the back of the sofa. £60 million is a more startling figure, but to a man worth £1.7 billion, it’s all relative. This is a seriously rich man. He’s made more money than he could ever spend in his lifetime. He’s ensured his family will never have to take the “interest free” option for season tickets at CR. He’s been there, done that, and now he is (I believe) at the age of 58, looking forward to retirement and maybe having a little bit of fun with his hard earned dosh.

    He’s got his eye on his beloved football team for that bit of fun. And that, to me, sounds very good indeed. Because I don’t think that Mr Cullum is the sort of bloke who takes his “retirement” lightly, and he won’t (if and when he gets control of NCFC) accept second best. I don’t think that 20 million will be the lot, do you? Hmmmm? Seriously? It’s going to be a long term thing. This man has the financial clout to not only get us back in the Premiership, he can establish us a top four Premiership club. Champions League and all that.

    You think I’m kidding? I don’t think PC is.

    Let’s put it this way, a man already worth £1.7 billion doesn’t want NCFC for it’s money or assets. Because we haven’t got any bloody money or assets.

    OTBC!

    Posted by Andy | July 4, 2008, 6:52 pm

Leave a Reply

