//
you're reading...
Transfer News & Gossip

Roeder Clingans to his first signing of the summer from Forest

Ouch what an awful, awful headline – but maybe not quite as painful as “Clingan hoving into view on the starboard bow as Forest star looks City-bound” – even if it did make me laugh (what can I say, I’m a geek). 🙂

Anyway, BBC Radio Norfolk this morning “understood” that 24-year old Sammy Clingan was on the verge of signing for City, and so it was proved this afternoon as the Northern Ireland international joined on a Bosman transfer from Nottingham Forest.

Clingan has signed a two-year deal at Carrow Road, and new boss Glenn Roeder told canaries.co.uk:

I’m extremely happy to secure the signature of Sammy Clingan. He is a player we watched a number of times during a successful promotion season at Nottingham Forest last year. We felt that he was the driving force in their midfield and we look forward to him continuing his career in an upward curve with us.

He is a Northern Ireland international with lots of experience. Having met him he struck me as having the drive and motivation that I’m looking for in my players.

Clingan himself says he is “delighted” to have joined the Canaries:

I’m absolutely delighted to be joining a big club like Norwich City. I’m leaving a good club, Nottingham Forest, to join Norwich and I’m really looking forward to trying to get them promoted to the Premier League.

Once I had spoken to Glenn Roeder and viewed the fantastic facilities at the club it was an easy decision to make. I knew of Glenn’s managerial reputation, working with big name players in the Premier League and hopefully he will help me become a better player too. I was very impressed with what he said and his plans for future – it really caught me and now I can’t wait for the first game.

It’s about blooming time. One down, half a dozen to go… 🙂

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

