//
you're reading...
Transfer News & Gossip

Liverpool’s Torres – one more we can cross off the list

Liverpool’s Spanish international striker Fernando Torres has pledged his future to the Anfield club, shattering Glenn Roeder’s dream of pairing the man with the pretty hair with Chris Martin next season.

Torres is quoted in the Sunday Express as saying:

I want to say very clearly that I’m not on the market and that it’s my desire to continue at Liverpool. I’m very happy there and I want to carry on.

I came to the club top win trophies. I have many years left on my contract and I expect to win some silverware there.

It was thought that Roeder had identified Torres as the man to spearhead our Carling Cup challenge, but he is now expected to turn his attentions elsewhere – with David Villa and Cristiano Ronaldo the most likely targets.

Sorry but we’ve had so many other ridiculous transfer rumours lately that I thought I’d add my own. It’s a shame though as I think this Nike advert could work wonderfully in a Norfolk accent. 🙂

En la ciudad de pelota.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Liverpool’s Torres – one more we can cross off the list

  1. pmfsl!

    nice one mate. made me chuckle on a miserable sunday morning!

    ynwa

    Posted by rafas goatee | June 15, 2008, 12:04 pm
  2. Absolute quality, LMAO!!! 🙂

    Sorry, Super-Fernando’s ours – for now, tho who knows, the appeal of the Norfolk Broads may lure him your way in the future.

    Good luck with Ronaldo tho (hands off Villa, we want him 😉 )

    Posted by Mike, Liverpool fan | June 15, 2008, 12:41 pm
  3. I really do think we’ll be pleasantly surprised with our transfers this season. Yes, I’m basing this partially on some tittle tattle heard and partially on sheer blind optimism, but I do think Roeder has the contacts and the sheer persuasive ability to get players signing on the dotted line.

    Don’t think Torres will be one of them, though!

    Posted by Marshmallowman | June 15, 2008, 3:41 pm
  4. Fernando Torres + Villa campeones de la Eurocopa! Podeeemos!

    Posted by untrapper | June 15, 2008, 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

