//
you're reading...
Transfer News & Gossip

Wednesday Round-Up: Carroll from Newcastle and Paterson from Scunthorpe do the rounds again

There’s no news like old news, and that’s really all we’re left with in the world of Norwich City today.

The EDP24 site has again linked us with a loan move for Andy Carroll from Newcastle. But then mention that Derby are also supposedly interested, so no real news there then.

The Pink’un meanwhile concentrate on whether or not City could put an end to Scunthorpe striker Martin Paterson’s “pain”.

The 21-year old had a transfer request turned down by the Iron last week, but seems pretty determined to get away from Glanford Park:

I’ve obviously made it very clear I want to leave the club by handing in a transfer request.

The reason that I did that is because when I signed, the club said if I did well they wouldn’t stand in my way of bettering myself or staying in the Championship.

I’m coming to the end of a year where I think I’ve done OK. I’ve not ripped up trees, but I think I’ve done well and that Scunthorpe have gone back on their word.

I understand football and that the fans won’t like my point of view and I can only apologise if people think I have disrespected the club.

I hope they look at it from the point of view that I’m a young lad and very ambitious and I want to use the momentum I’ve had this year.

I understand that football clubs want to earn a lot of money for players, or at least earn what they deserve,” said Paterson.

I have no qualms in Scunthorpe holding out for what they want as long as it profits Scunthorpe and means I get to play at a higher level.

I don’t mind them rejecting bids to get what they want. But I harp on about, when I signed, the fact that they said they wouldn’t stand in my way.

And all I can do is stress the fact that if I stayed at the club I would be a player that was very unhappy.

I don’t know if I’d be in the right frame of mind to play next season, knowing that I could have gone to the Championship.

With Burnley’s interest, there is an opportunity for me to stay in the Championship. I want to stay in the Championship.

Sounds like a lovely young man.

Word on the street is that we won’t be matching Ipswich’s bid for Shola Ameobi. I think that’s been done to death so I’ll leave that there. Let’s hope tomorrow is a more interesting day…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

