//
you're reading...
FA Cup

FA Cup Final Preview: Portsmouth v Cardiff City

It’s the biggest day on the English football calendar – FA Cup Final day.

When I was growing up the FA Cup Final really was a full day of brilliant build-up leading to the game. That’s all kind of been diluted these days with the advent of satellite television and round-the-clock televised matches, but if there is a day that should show the world what English football is all about it’s today, so I’m going to be posting lots of FA Cup-related stuff today in its honour.

This year should be made all the more special because for the first time since 1995 one of the “big four” won’t get their name on the cup.

Portsmouth have won the Cup once, back in 1939, and are installed as favourites against Cardiff – who also have one also won the Cup once – in 1927.

A few facts…

League Position: Portsmouth 8th (Premier League), Cardiff 12th (Championship).

Top Goalscorer: Portsmouth – Benjani (now Manchester City, 12), Cardiff – Ledley/Parry (11).

My Prediction: Ordinarily I’d go for the underdog, but to be completely honest I want Portsmouth to win. I don’t think that the Welsh anthem should be played or that Cardiff should be allowed to play in Europe next season if they win, but that’s my problem and I’ll get over it. 🙂

All of that aside, I can’t wait for the game to start. I just wish Virgin Media had sorted my HD out in time. Oh well, you can’t have everything can you?

I’ll leave the last word to Bluebirds boss Dave Jones

Maybe, over the last few years, the FA Cup has lost a little bit of magic because it’s been the same teams (in the final). But Portsmouth and ourselves have broken the mould this season – we want to make our own history.

Enjoy the day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

