//
you're reading...
npower League

Am I the only person disappointed that Leeds beat Carlisle? Erm, pretty much yes.

Yesterday I posted a quick poll asking whether or not I was the only person disappointed that Leeds had beaten Carlisle in the League One play-offs.

It’s fair to say that a number of Leeds fans weren’t exactly too impressed and, erm, the results are in:

Yes – 83%

No – 17%

Fairly conclusive I think you’ll agree, meaning either most of the rest of the country wanted Leeds to win, or lots of Leeds fans voted.

Either way the results are fair and square and I’m big enough and ugly enough to take it on the chin, hold my hands up and admit I was wrong.

I’ve learnt several things from this exercise:

  1. There are a lot of ways people spell “d*ckhead”.
  2. An awful lot of people will go out of there way to tell you how little they care about what you think.
  3. If you are going to write a smart-arse post, be prepared to face the consequences.

With all that in mind, I have to say well done Leeds supporters. I still think your chairman is a bit of a wally, but thanks to those of you who left reasonable arguments in your comments (people like Gerry C, Daryn, Trevor, Simon and Stuart), I think you may have actually changed my mind.

I’m not going to patronise you and say I’ll be roaring you on next week because to be fair I probably won’t, but maybe the Championship wouldn’t be as bad a place with Leeds United in it than I thought.

So good luck at Wembley – and if you get promoted I might even buy some of you a pint down at Carrow Road next season (although Mr Bolton I think I might let you get your own 🙂 ).

Discussion

10 thoughts on “Am I the only person disappointed that Leeds beat Carlisle? Erm, pretty much yes.

  1. Nice one Guru – now that we live in a world where nobody thinks they’re ever wrong it’s nice to see a retraction. I don’t know why you don’t like us in the first place but if it’s the chairman bear in mind that nearly 100% of Leeds fans think he’s a wally as well.

    Hope to see you at Elland road next season

    Posted by Peter - Horsforth White | May 17, 2008, 10:14 am
  2. Fair plays Norwich fella. We’re used to everyone hating us. Sadly we live in a world full of sheep. But fair plays to you for having a bit of an open mind.

    Posted by Colchester White | May 17, 2008, 10:51 am
  3. Well done Guru for holding your hands up to this one and recognising that my comments came from an impartial observer.

    I thought that your comments were, in some instances misread..

    Posted by Simon | May 17, 2008, 11:28 am
  4. Well done for accepting you were wrong and doing so with some humour. Being a life long Leeds fan who also happens to have a soft spot for Norwich (the club and the city), I was particularly puzzled why you didn’t want us around in the first place, but fair do’s – you have been ‘persuaded’, so hopefully we will now get to play you again next year and I can have a rare visit to one of my favourite parts of the country!

    However, I am one Leeds fan who does not think our chairman is a wally. Admittedly, he is not Mr Popular, but he saved the club and he IS re-building it. We exist, and we are going to Wembley, and we have a good manager. Now we just need our ground back and some players capable of keeping us in the Championship (if we get there). A certain Dougie Freedman would be a nice start!

    Posted by White Heather | May 17, 2008, 12:02 pm
  5. The world of football is a vindictive one, my friend.

    Posted by White in Asia | May 17, 2008, 1:43 pm
  6. Ken Bates was the last man I wanted as our Chairman when he came along, however, he’s done a lot for Leeds United and I can’t fault him. Well done Ken, you’ve converted me.

    Well done Guru for accepting you were wrong. Only a small minority of Leeds fans are idiots. The 2nd Division will be a better place if Leeds go up. With all due respect to Doncaster, I doubt they’ll make much of an impact if they make it.

    Posted by Clive Sanderson | May 17, 2008, 5:19 pm
  7. You’re right there White in Asia; a knife in the heart! But, as me old mucker Fritz said, what does not kill me makes me stronger!

    Posted by Colchester White | May 17, 2008, 5:58 pm
  8. Dont give an aunt mables what you think but fair play deekhid ;o)

    Posted by Notts White | May 17, 2008, 7:53 pm
  9. Hey Guru, thanks for the post and your retraction, made me smile You may have noticed now that anything placed ‘ont tinternet’ with the word ‘leeds’ in it attracts some little interest from my fellow leeds supporters. it’s true we are a little defensive but you have to understand the venom often directed towards us usually gets a reaction, it’s because we are all so sensitive 😉

    Have to say would love to be back playing Norwich soon, always one of my favourite away trips …bloody long way and murder to get to but Norwich is well worth the trip and mines a pint of bitter thanks.

    Posted by Paul | May 17, 2008, 10:16 pm
  10. hay dosnt look like leeds will go up agen ?
    want them bk in the championship think they will do better in that league ?

    Posted by scunthorpe-leedsfan | February 17, 2009, 10:25 am

Leave a Reply

