//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

New Canaries kit: A few requests for the board

Norwich City home kits by Xara

City will have a new kit next season and at 28 years of age (ouch) I should, by now, be at an age when the thought of my team turning out in new clobber doesn’t excite me but I’m afraid it does. That’s something I’ve got to deal with, but I’ll do it in my own time.

So far we know that we’re very likely to have a new sponsor (has that been confirmed? I’m not sure), that the away kit will probably be the same but with the new sponsor logo (it was released as a “2007-2009” kit, so I think that’s the most likely scenario), and it’ll therefore almost certainly be Xara again.

With that in mind I have five simple requests:

  1. Let us (the fans) have a say in our kit. Other clubs have done it like Crystal Palace, Sheffield Wednesday and Ipswich in recent years but we continue to have naff kits forced on us (although to be fair I think the current home kit is the best one we’ve had for a while looks-wise).
  2. Get a decent sponsor. There’s nothing wrong with flybe as such, but with them also sponsoring Southampton and Exeter they were hardly a local company likely to have a long-term interest in the football club – and Lotus was really cool – which is why I still wear my Premier League away shirt with “Ginger Pele 27” on the back quite regularly.
  3. Please don’t make it “fitted”. I spent a good few years laughing at Spurs and their fans on TV wearing that skin-tight lycra kit, only for us to bring out our own. The 11 players on the pitch may well be highly-tuned professional athletes, but most of the 25,000 in the crowd are not, and there’s nothing worse than looking at the size chart and thinking to yourself “there’s no way I’m ringing up and ordering a shirt that size”. Not that I’d do that of course…ahem.
  4. Let us know about it early. Most Premier League sides release their new kit by the end of the previous season, so why do we always have to wait until September? One of the reasons the good Lord made football kits was so you could wear them on your holidays on the Costa Del Chav or wherever it is you go. It’s not a lot of good getting a new shirt in October is it?
  5. Please don’t let Xara give us a kit that is styled from an adidas kit or similar. Xara might be cheaper than one of the “big” brands, the club may get a better margin per jersey sold, but ripping off an adidas or Nike kit is not big and it’s not clever.

I don’t think that’s asking too much, do you?

If anyone else has any pre-requisites or requirements they would like to add please let me know. You can leave a comment, or my email address is on the right hand side of the page.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “New Canaries kit: A few requests for the board

  1. I have the same problem. The kit means so much to me, not sure why exactly. Though i must disagree on the point that this is the best kit we’ve had in awhile (I’ve disliked it ever since it was released).

    I REALLY, REALLY, REALLY don’t want Flybe to be our sponsor, i honestly don’t think the logo suits our kit (silly i know, it’s the £ that matters ultimately), i personally preferred the look of proton cars (sorry i just don’t think the mix of red, orange, blue or whatever is on it, combines well with the yellow and green. It’s a nasty combination, I’ve seen sick that looked more appealing).

    Oh well, i just hope the club come up with a design that we all like and can all agree on.

    Posted by Sussex Canary | April 3, 2008, 9:15 pm
  2. Bring back something like the classy Colmans one designed by Bruce Oldfield. I still wear it on special occasions, the naffest one ever was the one with green splats of vomit on the yellow background, was it made by Ribbero (something like that I think). I really dont like our current one and for the 1st time in years didn’t buy the current kit, and bought the 1972 retro top instead to wear at games.

    If you guys think you are sad then I must be ultra sad as I keep all my shirts going back to 1980s, beautifully Ironed (thanks Mrs Positive) in my “Norwich draw” and I am 40 something! god I must get a life

    Posted by Mr Positive | April 4, 2008, 8:26 am
  3. It is so nice to have a space for me to express my feeling of the Norwich City shirt. I am a strange fans from Hong Kong and I can only rely on buying the kit from the clubshop, as everyone did, and I must say the staffs from the clubshop and the kit manager treated me superbly.

    I am only concerning about the size of the shirt, shorts and tracksuit. I was absolutely amazed when I read the Xara size chat: they say 6XL is measured only 27 inches across the chest? Simply it is too small for the big man — especially when you measure a adidas 2XL shirt, it is 27 inches across the chest already! The shorts are also too small, and for myself I love to wear the full Norwich kit to play football, but because the shorts was too small, I really can’t do that! I was frustrated!!!

    What I really hope next season we will have a 6XL shirt which chest measure 28 inches across the chest, and also the shorts will go to 4XL, also the polyester training vest, which is very usual nowdays will be available in the clubshop. Thank you.

    Posted by XXL16 | April 4, 2008, 11:46 am
  4. I actually think the current home kit is incredibly ugly. Though I hate it a bit less now than when it came out.

    My suggestion would be to let the guy/girl who designs the away shirt do the home one. I’ve bought the last 3 away shirts as they’re pretty classy I think. Why can’t we have something similar to the 2 recent ones (red & white).

    With the home kits Xara seems to be trying to be different, which they are…just not in the right way.

    I’d vote for something very classic and clean. Keep the green on the collar and cuffs…maybe a few subtle flashes. Thin yellow stripes on shorts and maybe some hoop style socks! Imagine the Arsenal kit from a few seasons ago…the purpley one.

    I’m sure the next kit can’t be worse that the current one…just hope it’s good enough to finally get one!

    p.s. Oh and a nice (non-cheap) feel to the material too!!

    Posted by Jayman66 | April 5, 2008, 3:39 pm
  5. Thanks for the comments people. I’ll send an email to Mr. Doncaster and see what comes back. 🙂

    Posted by The Guru | April 8, 2008, 11:35 am

Leave a Reply

