//
you're reading...
History

Quotes of the Week: 30th March 2008

Glenn Roeder scrubs Andy D’Urso’s name from his Christmas list:

I’ve got the fourth official screaming in my ear: ‘Glenn, the Bristol City player has handled the ball. I can clearly see that…’ And that’s before the free-kick’s taken.

He (D’Urso) even actually came over before the free-kick was taken. And the fourth official told him: ‘It was a Bristol City player that handled the ball…’ But he had gone by then. His lights had gone out. He wouldn’t listen and the ball ends up in the back of the net.

It’s not acceptable. If a referee got that wrong on a Sunday morning pitch, he’d be cried down. If D’Urso can’t get those simple decisions right, my God, where’s he going?

And reveals his shock at the money Stoke have “paid” for Shola Ameobi:

I have to take him for his word, I know Dennis (Wise) reasonably well and that’s what he was telling me. I am not obliged to say what Stoke’s business is with Newcastle, but it is mind boggling, the amount of money he has told me that Stoke have gambled for Shola to get them in the Premiership because, I believe, if they don’t do it, there isn’t any way that Stoke are going to carry through paying £5m for a striker while they are still in the Championship.

Darren Huckerby has his targets for the end of the season:

I need to chip in with a few more goals before the end of the season – I’m four away now from 50, so if I could get anywhere near that I’d be very happy. I was hoping to get to 50 before 200 games, to be honest. Because then it’s one in four and for a left-winger, that’s pretty good. But we’ll have to see what happens.

Matty Gilks reveals he could have left the club:

A couple of clubs came in for me, trying to get me on loan but obviously with the situation with goalkeepers at the club he can’t afford to let me go, or he’s not looking to let me go. Which is a bit unfortunate for me but then again it’s up to the manager and I’m sure if there was a chance I could have gone, he wouldn’t have stopped me from getting first-team football.

Sven rules out selling Ched Evans:

We do not have any plans to sell him. A little bit depends on him and he’s doing well at the moment for Norwich and his country. If I had to make a plan today, it’s to take him back for pre-season, look at him and decide from there. That will be his big chance.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

