//
you're reading...
History

Memorable Kits: England World Cup Italia ’90

England 1990 World Cup shirt

The 1990 World Cup in Italy was the first one that I remember properly, as I would have only been 9 and a half at the time.

It’s also pretty much the first England kit that I can remember as well, and reminds me of a happier time – when England were actually good!

Gazza’s tears, Lineker’s penalties against Cameroon, Platt’s late, late winner against Belgium, that deflected West Germany goal that looped over Peter Shilton – for an Englishman it was a great World Cup, and as a 9 year old kid it was brilliant.

I think I must have watched literally every single game – apart from 20 minutes of England versus Cameroon when my mum took the plug off my TV after I said she “wouldn’t dare”. Lesson learned there.

And who can forget the song? Has there ever been a better England World Cup song than “World in Motion” by New Order? I don’t think so…

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

