//
you're reading...
FA Cup

FA Cup Fifth Round Predictions

The FA Cup

It’s FA Cup time again. The round matches take place this weekend, so as per the norm let’s make a few predictions…

Bristol Rovers vs. Southampton (Live on BBC1 from 12:10 on Saturday): The game most likely to provide an upset (hence it being televised), I don’t think we will see any surprises. My prediction: Southampton to win.

Cardiff City vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers: This one will probably be a game where the number of arrests far out-weighs the score line. My prediction: Draw.

Chelsea vs. Huddersfield Town: One of those games where we will hear the word “plucky”, only the bravest of punters will back the visitors. My prediction: Chelsea to win.

Coventry City vs. West Bromwich Albion: Coventry have parted company with manager Iain Dowie in recent days are in freefall in the Championship and I can’t see their misery ending here. My prediction: West Brom to win.

Liverpool vs. Barnsley: The scousers have seen off lower opposition in both previous rounds. Can anyone seriously see the Tykes causing an upset? My prediction: Liverpool to win.

Manchester United vs. Arsenal (Live on BBC1 from 17:05 on Saturday): Without question the tie of the round. If both sides play their full-strength sides it’ll be a belter, but as much as it pains me I’m going with home-field advantage. My prediction: Man Utd to win.

Sheffield United vs. Middlesbrough (Live on BBC1 from 13:45 on Sunday): Up until a couple of days ago I would have tipped Sheff Utd to give Southgate’s Boro a shock, but with all the off-field upheaval I think Boro will get away with it. My prediction: Boro to win.

Preston North End vs. Portsmouth (Live on Sky Sports 1 from 15:00 on Sunday): Preston have been stuttering in the league and Pompey can’t seem to make their minds up. I’m going to play it safe here. My prediction: Pompey to win.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

