//
you're reading...
History

Quotes of the Week: 10th Feb 2008

Ched Evans on his great week, and demonstrating that you don’t always need to listen to what the manager tells you:

It’s been a great week for me with four goals, I’m really pleased with my performances at the moment and I’m just gaining in confidence with every game I play.

I’m just glad that the second goal went in at Ninian Park. Darren Huckerby was screaming at me for the ball and the manager was telling me to put it in the corner!

Glenn Roeder on Evans’ wonder-strike:

That is not the first time I have seen him hit a ball like that. It’s the first time you will have seen it in an actual game, but I’ve seen that many times on the training ground. Believe me, that strike was not a fluke and he’ll go on scoring goals like that throughout his career.

Canary legend Iwan Roberts on the job Roeder and his team are doing:

I’ve known him for about 20 years and I was very pleased when I heard he was coming in. Players do get a lift because it was hard under Granty towards the end. They were losing games they shouldn’t have and the confidence takes a battering.

Players don’t want the ball or stop making the runs they should because if they make a mistake of lose a goal you start to think, ‘here we go again.’ Glenn has changed it around and now everybody is desperate to get into the team. The lads coming into the side are taking their opportunity.

Roberts on City’s promotion prospects:

If you look at the last two months its promotion form – if they keep that going who knows? With the number of games left they just need to keep picking up points. Crystal Palace had a terrible start. Neil Warnock came in and, after the first few matches, laid down a marker.

It might be a little early for people to start talking about the play offs. First and foremost I would say the target is to get to 50 points. Get to 50 points and you guarantee being in the division next season. Then you can start setting new targets – like making the top ten or even higher.

Manchester City boss Sven-Goran Eriksson on the minute’s silence at Old Trafford:

I would like to say a big thank you to our fans. They were absolutely fantastic before the game during the minute’s silence and of course during the game.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

