//
you're reading...
FA Cup

FA Cup Fourth Round Predictions

Havant celebrate their third-round replay success

If you’ve been reading this blog for longer than a couple of weeks you’ll know that I love the FA Cup, and with this weekend being Fourth Round weekend I thought I’d turn my attention to that and make a few predictions – hopefully I’ll be more successful than I was last time:

Arsenal V Newcastle: Keegan’s second reign at St James’ began with a rather dull 0-0 draw with Bolton, and if he didn’t realise before what a big task is ahead of him he surely does now. My prediction: Arsenal to win.

Barnet V Bristol Rovers: 16th in League Two play 18th in League One at Underhill. This one’s a tight one to call. My prediction: Draw.

Coventry V Millwall: Both teams have been up and down of late (well, down more than up in Millwall’s case). There should only be one outcome. My prediction: Coventry to win.

Derby V Preston: Both teams are struggling in the league at the moment, and as hard as it is to imagine Derby beating anyone at the moment I think home advantage will see them through. My prediction: Derby to win.

Hereford V Cardiff: Cardiff saw off Chasetown in the 3rd round and I think they’ll see off Hereford on Sunday. My prediction: Cardiff to win.

Liverpool V Havant & Waterlooville: The romantic in me would love to see an upset at Anfield, but I can’t see them making the same mistakes that allowed to Luton to get a replay. My prediction: Liverpool to win.

Man Utd V Tottenham: Spurs battered Arsenal’s reserves midweek and if Alex Ferguson rests too many regulars could also come unstuck. I can’t see it though. My prediction: Man Utd to win.

Mansfield V Middlesbrough: Boro aren’t the best travellers in cup competitions despite putting Bristol City to the sword in the 3rd round. For some reason I fancy Mansfield to get a replay. My prediction: Draw.

Oldham V Huddersfield: This all-League One game could easily go either way, but I’m backing the visitors. My prediction: Huddersfield to win.

Peterborough V West Brom: Posh are going great-guns in the league at the moment, but West Brom will be too strong for them. My prediction: West Brom to win.

Portsmouth V Plymouth: Plymouth are having a good season but even the most optimistic of fans would back Pompey in this one. My prediction: Portsmouth to win.

Sheffield Utd V Man City: This’ll be what they call a “proper cup-tie”. United have really struggled since dropping out of the Premier League, and I expect Sven to rest quite a few which could give Bryan Robson’s men a real chance. My prediction: Draw.

Southampton V Bury: Bury knocked us out after a replay in the last round, but surely manager-less Southampton won’t make the same mistakes we did? My prediction: Southampton to win.

Watford V Wolves: Hmm, a close one. My prediction: Draw.

Wigan V Chelsea: I’d like to think Steve Bruce’s men could pull off an upset here, but I think they’ll consider this game an unwelcome distraction from trying to stay in the Premier League. My prediction: Chelsea to win.

So they’re my predictions for the 4th round matches. Not an awful lot of surprises there, but we’ll see how I get on tomorrow.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

