//
you're reading...
International Football

African Cup of Nations

2008 African Cup of Nations LogoThe African Cup of Nations kicked-off last night, and I thought it would only be fair for me to pick a team to follow for the duration of the tournament.

I’m not African, and as such don’t really have a particular favourite team to get behind, so the fairest way I could think of to select a side was to find a map and pick a country at random.

So, the winner is…Democratic Republic of the Congo. “Get in” I thought. I had all these brilliant puns about Um-Bongo (they drink it in the Congo if you remember), but then I spotted a tiny little problem. They’re not playing in the 2008 African Cup of Nations. B*gger.

So I had to pick again, and the the real winner is…Ivory Coast. Even better – I even know some of their players – like Didier Drogba.

“We’re” playing Nigeria tonight. I have to say I’m a bit nervous. They’re good they are.

Hold the phone quick update. We won! Kalou scored. Get in there!

This is going to be fun.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

