//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

What a difference a week makes

At about this time last week the Canaries were five points adrift at the bottom of the Championship and England had just failed to qualify for the European Championships next summer in Austria and Switzerland (those two well known giants of the world game).

Now, following back-to-back wins for the first time in I don’t know how long, the Canaries are within five points of 18th place. Ok yes, it is still all doom and gloom with regards to England but I don’t really care about that at the moment. All I’m interested in is seeing the yellows claw themselves out of the bottom three.

On the way to the ground on Saturday for the Coventry game I felt a real buzz of anticipation. At the time I put it down to the prospect of eating one of Delia’s delightful Cornish pasties – after all, I had the same feeling on the way to the Watford game and we all know how that ended. But as the game went on I just didn’t feel we were going to lose the game.

And then last night there was Blackpool. I won’t lie to you I didn’t go to that one. It’s a blooming long way to go and I had work in the morning, but I didn’t have the fear so often associated with City playing an away game. Two goals from Dion and another from Tiny later and it was mission accomplished and on to the next phase of the great escape.

Football. It really is a funny old game isn’t it?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

